History of the Moore County Airport
The Moore County Airport has a unique and interesting history. The facility first came into being in 1929 when the Tufts family, famous for their establishment of the famed Pinehurst Resort, opened a dirt runway and named it “Knollwood Airport”.
In 1935 Moore County acquired the airport from the Knollwood Development Company.
From 1942 to 1945, the airport was leased to the U. S. Army Air Corps and was used as the Knollwood Army Auxiliary Airfield.
In 1945, the airport became the Pinehurst-Southern Pines Airport and Piedmont Airlines began service, ending in the late 1960’s.
1980 brought another name change, The Moore County Airport, which still remains the official title today.
From 1945 until January 13, 1992, the County leased out the Fixed Base Operations (FBO). The latest FBO being Air Moore, Inc. / Pinehurst Jet Center.